Channel 17 Town Meeting Forums Begin February 4, 2019

January 29, 2019

Town Meeting Day — on Tuesday, March 5th — is everyone’s chance to weigh in on important issues in our community. To help voters better understand the people and questions on their local ballots, Channel 17/Town Meeting Television will present a series of Town Meeting Forums throughout the month of February.

 

All Chittenden County candidates, whether listed on the ballot or running write-in campaigns, are invited to appear on live candidate call-in forums. Forums air live on Comcast and Burlington Telecom cable Channels 17 and 317, online at www.ch17.tv, and are live-streamed on Channel 17’s YouTube Channel: http://ow.ly/ObtY30nCrXp

 

 

Most forums begin at 5:25 p.m. and are held at the Channel 17 Studio, 294 North Winooski Avenue, Burlington, VT. The public and press are invited to attend all forums and viewers are encouraged to call 802-862-3966 to ask the candidates questions.
 

Our forums are now available as podcasts! LISTEN here: ch17.podbean.com

 

 

TOWN MEETING FORUM SCHEDULE - 2019

Subject to change.
Forums are aired LIVE; links to previous events below.

 

Monday, February 4

Winooski FY20 School Budget Presentation

 

Wednesday, February 6

Winooski Mayoral Candidates Forum

 

Thursday, February 7

Essex Town FY20 Town Budget & Ballot Presentation
&
Selectboard Candidates

 

Friday, February 8

Champlain Valley School District Budget - 3 PM
School Board Candidates - 5:25 PM
 

Monday, February 11

Winooski City FY20 Budget  & Ballot Presentation
&
City Council Candidates
 

Tuesday, February 12

Williston FY20 Town Budget & Ballot Presentation
&
Selectboard Candidates - 2-year Term
 

Wednesday, February 13

Burlington Charter Changes
 

Friday, February 15

Burlington City Council Candidates - All Wards

Monday, February 18

Williston Selectboard Candidates - 3-year Term
 

Tuesday, February 19

Burlington School FY20 Budget & Ballot Presentation
 

Wednesday, February 20

Burlington School Board Seats - All Wards
 

Thursday, February 21

Burlington Ballot Items Presentation
 

Friday, February 22

South Burlington School FY20 Budget
& School Board Candidates

 

Monday, February 25

South Burlington City Budget & Ballot Presentation
 

Tuesday, March 5

LIVE Town Meeting Day Preview

& Election Results Show (at 7:00 p.m.)
 

 

Featured Story

Alliance for Community Media says FCC Cable Vote Will Harm Local Media

The proposed rules would allow cable companies to assign market values to these benefits and then charge the amount back to local communities in most cases. Benefits include items like free cable subscriptions to schools, discounts for the elderly, and fiber connectivity to local government buildings like police departments, fire stations, and libraries.

Read more...

More News from the Center for Media and Democracy