Nuclear Free Future: Nobel Peace Prize 2017 - International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons

Embed This Player

Download: H.264/AAC mp4 file Creative Commons License

Tell us about your experience with this online video, click here.


Host Margaret Harrington reads the letter to supporters from the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) on their winning the Nobel Peace Prize. The nine nations who have nuclear weapons have not signed the treaty to abolish nuclear weapons. They are the United States, China, Russia, Great Britain, France, India, Israel, Pakistan, and North Korea. ICAN modeled their campaign on the International Campaign to Ban Landmines which with its American Coordinator, Jody Williams, won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1997. Jody Williams speaks in Vermont at the first statewide Nuclear Disarmament Day observed on August 6th, the day the United States bombed Hiroshima.

Order Now!



1 Wednesday October 11, 2017 at 6:00 PM
2 Thursday October 12, 2017 at 5:30 AM
3 Thursday October 12, 2017 at 11:30 AM
4 Saturday October 14, 2017 at 10:00 PM
5 Sunday October 15, 2017 at 3:00 AM
6 Sunday October 15, 2017 at 9:00 AM
7 Wednesday October 18, 2017 at 1:00 PM
8 Monday October 23, 2017 at 1:00 PM
9 Sunday October 29, 2017 at 7:00 PM


Kevin Harms

Featured Story

CCTV Welcomes New Board Chair Jason Pelletier

The CCTV Center for Media & Democracy Board is pleased to announce election of Jason Pelletier as its newest President. Jason assumes Board leadership from Michael McNamara, longtime supporter of CCTV and Channel 17 producer who served as Board President from 2013.


More News from the Center for Media and Democracy