Local Matters: Lost Shul Mural

Embed This Player

Download: H.264/AAC mp4 file Creative Commons License

Tell us about your experience with this online video, click here.

Description

Aaron Goldberg, Archivist at Ohavi Zedek Synagogue, joins with others form the Burlington, Vermont Jewish Community, to share the history and future of the Lost Shul Mural.  In 1910 the interior of Chai Adam synagogue in Burlington, VT was gloriously painted from ceiling to floor by Ben Zion Black, who was brought from Lithuania by the congregation to paint the synagogue in the prevalent style of the wooden shuls of Eastern European. Decades later the synagogues in Burlington merged and the Chai Adam building was sold several times before ultimately being converted into apartment units. Much of the painting was destroyed during the renovation but the mural over the ark was covered by a wall and forgotten until 2012 when the Lost Shul Mural was uncovered for the first time in nearly thirty years.

Order Now!

Summary

Airtimes

1 Friday November 1, 2013 at 5:25 PM
2 Monday November 4, 2013 at 7:00 PM
3 Tuesday November 5, 2013 at 2:00 PM
4 Friday November 8, 2013 at 2:00 PM
5 Tuesday November 12, 2013 at 2:00 PM
6 Sunday November 17, 2013 at 4:30 PM
7 Tuesday November 19, 2013 at 2:00 PM
8 Saturday November 23, 2013 at 5:30 PM
9 Tuesday November 26, 2013 at 2:00 PM
10 Sunday December 1, 2013 at 7:00 PM

Featured Story

Vermont Attorney General Posts Privacy Protection Recommendations

The Vermont General Assembly has asked the Attorney General, in consultation with the Public Service Department, to make recommendations on the adoption of regulations concerning telecommunications privacy, the designation of a Chief Privacy Officer, and whether to regulate businesses that handle the data of consumers with whom they have a direct relationship. Read the report.

Read more...

More News from the Center for Media and Democracy